Day Four : Semi-Finals Decided

Semi-Finals decided as World Champs Sherbini and Farag bow out

With Raneem El Welily and Mohamed Elshorbagy enjoying a rest day after topping their Groups with three wins, the remaining contenders battled it out for the other semi-final places tonight at the Mall of Arabia.

The Group scenarios started simple, then got more complex …

First up were two straightforward situations as Camille Serme and Tesni Evans met to decide who made the semis. The Frenchwoman was in control in the early stages and fought off an Evans revival to take the match in two.

It was the same situation for Tarek Momen and Diego Elias. The Peruvian wasn’t there in the first, but recovered strongly to take the second, just falling sort in the decider.

The other groups were more complicated, but Nouran Gohar simplified things as she came from a game down to beat, and put out, defending champion Nour El Sherbini.

That left Nour El Tayeb and Sarah-Jane Perry to contest the other spot, and it was the Egyptian who dominated, winning in just 15 minutes.

Paul Coll needed a miracle to qualify, but he gave top seed Ali Farag an almighty fright, coming close to the 2-0 win he needed only for Farag to edge home in the decider. That result put Karim Abdel Gawad through, and Mohamed Abouelghar needing a 2-0 win over Gawad, which he duly delivered.

So that’s the men’s top seed and the women’s defending champion out, and just one non-Egyptian in the semi-finals.  Match reports below the results …


Day FOUR Wed 12th June, Pools Round THREE

WA:  [4] Camille Serme (Fra) 2-0 [8] Tesni Evans (Wal)   11-5, 13-11 (28m)
MB:  [3] Tarek Momen (Egy) 2-1 [7] Diego Elias (Per)   11-2, 4-11, 11-8 (46m)
WB:  [6] Nouran Gohar (Egy) 2-1 [2] Nour El Sherbini (Egy)   6-11, 11-5, 11-7 (33m)
MA:  [1] Ali Farag (Egy) 2-1 [5] Paul Coll (Nzl)    9-11, 12-10, 11-9 (69m)
WB:  [3] Nour El Tayeb (Egy) 2-0 [7] Sarah-Jane Perry (Eng)   11-0, 11-5 (15m)
MA:  [8] Mohamed Abouelghar (Egy) 2-0[4] Karim Abdel Gawad (Egy)  11-9, 11-3 (24m)

Semi-Final Lineup:
[1] Raneem El Welily (Egy) v [3] Nour El Tayeb (Egy)
[2] Mohamed ElShorbagy (Egy) v  [4] Karim Abdel Gawad (Egy)
[6] Nouran Gohar (Egy) v [4] Camille Serme (Fra)
[8] Mohamed Abouelghar (Egy) v [3] Tarek Momen (Egy)